2016 HS Award Recipients

Outstanding High School Students’ Award Recipients

(The Rose Fishkin Scholarship Award) Winners


Our Outstanding 2016 Award Recipients

What an inspiring May meeting we had with the recognition of our award recipients and hearing of their academic, community, sports and leadership achievements. Such dedication and focus from these outstanding students encourages the effort expended by our members in making the upcoming June 2016 Book Sale another success.

These six highest ranking female seniors from the Freehold Regional High Schools were honored with monetary awards of $500.

Our Annual Used Book Sale funds these awards and they are named for a former branch member, Rose Fishkin, who was a Cornell graduate and a believer in education for women.

2016_05_Erica Lee,Rachael Zhou,Katie Shum,Meagan Silva,Caroline Aboff,Anjali Prabhat

(From left to right)

Erica Lee represents Colts Neck High School and is involved in law and public service programs, is editor in chief of the school newspaper and is president of the Technology Student Association. She participates in the NJ Science League, the Shore Math League and is completing her internship at the Monmouth County Superior Court in Freehold. She will be attending Cornell University in the fall.

Rachael Zhou attends Marlboro High School is president of the science league and future Business Leaders of America as well as being the highest scoring member of her math league team. She has performed at Carnegie Hall and won several competitions. Rachael has earned a rare 2400 on the SATs and posses a provisional patent as an inventor. She volunteers weekly at Riverview Hospital and is self-employed in the SAT tutoring business. Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania awaits her in the fall.

Katie Shum is a senior at Freehold Township High School and is involved in the contemporary Global Issues Program as well as a member of the National Honor Society, an AP Scholar and a National Merit Scholar. She plays both the piano and cello and has created a music website which has gained three thousand views. Her musical compositions and self performed songs include SAT vocabulary and current events. Katie is also active in the Sayreville Association of Brain Injured Children. The College of New Jersey is her college choice.

Meagan Silva attends Manalapan High School and is a member of the National Honor Society as well as the Math Honor Society. She volunteers for Rose’s Fund for Animals where she raises monies for the cost of veterinary bills for pet owners who cannot afford them. Meaghan also volunteers with the Animal Rescue Force collecting donations and explaining the process of pet adoption to potential owners. In 2015 she attended the Bonner program at TCNJ. Rutgers is her college of choice in the fall and will major in bio-chemistry.

Carolyn Aboff from Howell High School is a student council representative, a member of the Math Club and runs cross country. Her favorite subjects are chemistry and calculus. Carolyn has earned the National Scholar Award from the College Board and volunteers as a first grade religion teacher. She also works with her brothers (she is a triplet) on a food truck and at the Howell South Little League field. Her hobby is painting and TCNJ is her college of choice.

Anjali Prabhat from Freehold Borough High School is president of the forensics team and won the NJ state championship in the Declamation category. She attended the NJ Governor’s School in the sciences and is an AP scholar with distinction. As captain of her varsity tennis team she is the winner of the school’s NJSIAA scholar athlete award. Anjali earned a perfect 2400 on her SATs and is interested in pursuing a career in medicine as a neuro-surgeon. Dartmouth is her choice of colleges in the fall.

We congratulate each of our recipients and wish them continued success in their college endeavors.